What The Hell Do I Want To Do With My Life?

life

It’s been a while since I’ve added anything to my site. Work has been extra rough this week and I’ve been stressed out. I am finally able to start my weekend!

When I started college, I knew I wanted to be a community college counselor. I wanted to do this so I could help students who were ‘stuck’ in community college advance to universities and earn degrees. I was a Human Services major with an emphasis in Mental Health. I had plans of going to graduate school after CSU Fullerton to obtain a Masters in Educational Counseling and start my dream job of being a counselor.

Within a week after college, I received the opportunity to be a paid intern for a large corporation in their Labor Relations department. I had a brief understanding of what Labor Relations was but I didn’t have in-depth experience or knowledge on the topic. I decided to take the paid internship because it would be a fresh experience out of college! And it paid well…so there’s that. Anyway, I really adored the people I worked with and all the knowledge I was gaining. It was my first experience in a corporate/business setting since all my previous internships had been in community college or high school settings.

I knew I was going to get a Masters no matter what, so I switched from Educational Counseling to Masters in Human Resources Management (the closest thing to Labor Relations at the school I had already chosen).  So I moved on from my internship to another HR job and started my Masters in HR. It was tough as hell. Working full time and going to graduate school is not easy, but it can be done and I did it!

It wasn’t until I was about to start another job in HR with more money and better perks that I started thinking “Is this really what I want to do with my life?” and it isn’t. I like HR but it doesn’t keep me going. I am not passionate about it and I don’t like the idea of only contributing to a business in order to make the CEO or whomever more money.

I like the idea of helping people in need. I like to make the world a better place and truly change people’s lives. So, I made a mistake. I want to be back in school or nonprofit settings where I work with individuals who can benefit from my guidance or knowledge of high education systems.

So to all of you that don’t know what you want to do with your life…… that’s the case for a lot of us. Don’t beat yourself up. Just make a new path. I am definitely trying to!

Til’ Next Time,

Lyss.

Leave a Reply

