The Important Things

life

Hello! It’s been a while, I know. I’ve been busy and haven’t had time to photograph new outfits and I’ve kind had a case of writers block. HOWEVER, I came across this picture on my explore page on Instagram the other day and I just absolutely love it!

FullSizeRender.jpg

It’s funny because I personally think I changed a lot throughout my college years, especially when me and my boyfriend of 4.5 years decided to go separate ways. I became so much more intuitive and mindful. As a result of becoming more mindful, I would typically say (and still do) “the more you learn, the more you realize you don’t know sh*t.” I stand behind this 100% still.

Most people think that we should get educated to land great jobs with high paying salaries. It’s part of the American dream. I’ve always thought about it differently. Of course I want a fat check to be able to live comfortably without financial worries. At the same time, I think college is important because it’s an experience. We experience different feelings, meet different people, explore different topics, and really – we challenge most of what we ‘knew’ before. Being educated and aware and mindful helps us realize that we are so incredibly insignificant in this giant world.

I know the picture is explaining something a little different, but I think it kind of goes hand in hand. We are so wrapped up in what we think we know and the lives that we live that we forgot how small we are. Just like the photo states, when you look into infinity, you realize that there are more important things than what people do all day. The Housewives binge-watching, the shoe buying, Mercedes driving, traffic complaining, work stressing; it’s all so small and insignificant.

There are more important things going on in our lives and in the world. More important things to focus on, put our energy into, thrive off of, etc.

I once had a Professor who always told us to be ready to die any day. He would say “When you wake up, ask yourself if today is a good day to die. Think of how you have treated others; the two-legged ones, the four-legged ones, the winged ones.” I have fallen off track and failed miserably lately, but I am trying to get back into that.

So, I ask you all now. Is today a good day to die? Are you proud of what you’ve accomplished and how you’ve made others feel?

Til’ Next Time,

Lyss.

Leave a Reply

